A Starter Guide to Hogwarts for Hogwarts Legacy

A Starter Guide to Hogwarts for Hogwarts Legacy

By  Dylan Pamintuan - 26th Jan 2023

Familiarise yourself with the Wizarding World.

A Starter Guide to Hogwarts for Hogwarts Legacy

The Wizarding World depicted in Hogwarts Legacyis vast and expansive, with many different terms and words that will most likely confuse any newcomers picking up the game. Luckily, we have a quick crash course about the basics.

What is Hogwarts?

Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry is a Scottish boarding school built to teach students ages eleven to seventeen about the wonderful world of magic. You will be attending the school as a fifth year student in the late 19th century, so many of the characters you might know from the movies or books may not be there. The current headmaster of the school is Phineas Nigellus Black who is, quite frankly, an idiot and will likely hinder you in your adventure.

What are Muggles?

Anyone who can’t do magic, born from non-magical parents. If they aren’t aware magic exists in the first place, it’s best to keep it that way.

What are Houses?

The Houses — Gryffindor, Hufflepuff, Ravenclaw, and Slytherin  —  are what students are sorted into at the start of their first year at Hogwarts by the Sorting Hat. They each represent certain virtues that a student may have like bravery, loyalty, wit, or ambition. Each House has their own colours, theme, and common room. In Hogwarts Legacy, you can either choose which House you’d like to be sorted into, or link your Pottermore account and use your test results.

What are Wands?

What are Wands?

A wand is an object through which witches and wizards can focus their magic, allowing them to cast a large variety of spells to either help them in daily life or combat an enemy. Each wand is made with different woods, cores, lengths, and flexibilities to fit the user.

What Classes Are There in Hogwarts?

They’ve got Astronomy, Charms, Defense Against the Dark Arts, Flying lessons, Herbology, History of Magic, Potions, and Transfiguration etc. Although so far, the only confirmed classes in Hogwarts Legacy are Potions, Charms, DADA, and Herbology. Since you’re entering Hogwarts as a fifth year, you have a lot of catching up to do. Luckily, the staff will provide you with support such as the Room of Requirement and special challenges set around the school.

What are the OWLs?

The Ordinary Wizarding Level exam is a series of subject specific standardised tests taken by fifth year students. They determine whether or not a student is allowed to take the more advanced classes of that subject. It also helps determine what a student’s job may be once they graduate. The grades range from O for Outstanding, to T for as dumb as a Troll. Ouch.

Now, these are only the basics needed to get a start while attending Hogwarts. There’s much more out there to discover and learn while you become the greatest witch/wizard to ever live, for better or for worse. Hogwarts Legacy is coming out on the 10th of February 2023 and will be available on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC via Steam. For the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One versions, you need to wait until the 4th of April 2023. For the Nintendo Switch version, it will release on the 25th of July 2023.

Remember you can get 72 hours early access by ordering Hogwarts Legacy Digital Deluxe Edition

Share this post

You may like

Join our newsletter
Sign up now to get the following benefits emailed direct to your inbox.
Subscriber-only offers
Exclusive coupons & giveaways
Incredible game deals
You can unsubscribe via the newsletter at any time. By subscribing to our newsletter you agree to our Privacy Policy.
Join Our Newsletter | Background
View More